top of page
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
About us

The European Women`s basketball league was founded in 2015 and will start its eighth season on Friday, October 28.

EWBL first seven seasons featured clubs from 15 countries (in alphabetic order): Belarus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden, Ukraine, Turkey.

Our lineup has included many well known European clubs like

TTT Rīga – EuroLeague Women quarterfinalist in 2019 and 2022;

Žabiny Brno – successor of the EuroLeague Women champion (2006) Gambrinus Brno;

Basket Gdynia – EuroLeague Women vice-champion in 2002 and 2004;

Good Angels Košice – EuroLeague Women Final Four participant in 2013;

Dynamo Moscow – three time EuroCup Women champion in 2007, 2013 and 2014.


Three teams from the last season – the 2022 EWBL champion and Czech vice-champion Žabiny Brno, EWBL finalist and Slovak champion Pieštanske Čajky, EWBL bronze medalist and Lithuania champion Kibirkštis Vilnius – advanced to the 2023 EuroCup Women.

Our teams play in the highly competitive championships – for example, Polish league is represented in FIBA competitions with five teams (Polkowice, Gdynia, Bydgoszcz, Lublin, Gorzow) and Czech league with three teams (USK Praha, Žabiny Brno, KP Brno).

A two time EWBL champion in 2017 and 2018 – coach Peter Jankovič – reached the 2013 EuroLeague Women Final Four as the Good Angels assistant coach.

A 2019 EWBL champion – coach Mārtiņš Zībarts – qualified for the 2019 EuroLeague Women with TTT Rīga and for the 2023 EuroLeague Women with Olympiacos SFP. He won the 2017 EuroLeague Women with Dynamo Kursk, while being an assistant coach of Lucas Mondelo.

A 2021 EWBL champion – coach Natalya Trafimava – reached the EuroBasket Women 2021 semifinals with Belarus national team.

A 2022 EWBL champion – coach Viktor Pruša – qualified for the 2023 FIBA U19 Women`s World Cup with the Czech U18 team.

bottom of page