top of page
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Writer's pictureMāris Noviks

Lineup completed: welcome Frankivsk Prykarpattya!

Ivanofrankivsk`s Frankivsk Prykarpattya is the third club from Ukraine, which will play in the European Women`s Basketball league.

Avangard Kyiv played at the EWBL in 2016-2017.

Kyiv`s club home court was destroyed in early March 2022, after Russia launched a full scale invasion on Thusday, February 24.

Tough resistance and the mighty Dnieper river with its tributaries stopped the invaders just outside the capital.

Vladimir Kholopov – a former Avangard women`s team and Ukraine 3x3 national team head coach – joined the Territorial defense forces until the invaders withdrew from the Kyiv, Zhitomir, Chernihiv and Sumy regions in early April.

Kholopov replaced Ainars Bagatskis at the helm of Kyiv Basket men`s team in the autumn of 2022.

Prometey Slobozhanske played at the EWBL in 2020-2021.

Ukraine`s strongest team qualified for the Final Four and shared the bronze medals with TTT Rīga.

Prometey applied for the EuroCup Women in the summer of 2021 but relocated to Bulgaria in February 2022.

The women`s team was dissolved in March 2022, while the men`s team was relocated to Rīga, Latvia in the summer of 2022.

Prometey plays at the EuroCup and Pafbet Estonia-Latvia league led by a head coach Ronen Ginzburg.

Uliana Datsko, a former Prometey player, represents the EWBL team Neptūnas Klaipeda.

Basketball cities like Zaporizhye and Mykolaiv are close to the frontlines, while the rest are experiencing terror attacks in order to destroy energy infrastructure ahead of winter.

Scheduled blackouts and shortages of water are part of everyday life.

The life goes on, despite everything.

Fourteen teams have applied for the Superleague season – Sumy, Dnipro (hasn`t played yet – HPY), Dynamo NPU (HPY), Kyiv Basket (HPY), Pereyaslav (HPY), Veneto Cherkasy, Rivne, Blyskavky, Rivne, Frankivsk (HPY), Interkhim (HPU), KIVS SBK (HPY), Vinnitsya (HPY), Blyskavky 2.

Eight teams from five countries will play in the European Women`s basketball league:

SKK Polonia Warszawa (Poland);

Levharti Chomutov, SBŠ Ostrava (Czechia);

Rīga Stradiņš University, TTT Rīga (Latvia);

Neptūnas Klaipeda, Šiauliai Vilmers (Lithuania);

Frankivsk Prykarpattya (Ukraine).

Eleftheria Moschatou from Greece recalled its application in early November.

EWBL is grateful to the Greek club for its application and wishes a good luck in the National championship.


bottom of page